My numbers/Experiences so far!

edited January 2014 in General Discussion
Hey guys! I've been trawling the forums for a few months reading up and I appreciate all the helpful posts everyone has put up! I put my first app up in November and so far have finished my 5th app! The revenue has been slow but growing, we made about $150 last month!

Experiences so far:
1.) "Grey apps" are tough to monetize! We have 2 apps that have sexual content but no nudity. Admob ads were pulled from both, so now I have 2 apps with about 5800 installs and no revenue =(

2.) That said, I did create a more robust version of each app above and created a link in the free ones for "Want more, try our prop version". This is the only way I've been able to monetize so far. Give me an ad option that allows sexytime content please Andromo!

3.) I only use Amazon and Google play so far.. Looking at maybe trying Opera next, anyone have and experience with them?

How much are you guys pulling per month/day? Any advice for growth? We've tried a few more acceptable content and they are up to like.. $1-$3 a day in advertising revenue. What are the biggest makers for you guys?

Comments

• A Christmas related app did extremely well during the holidays and now started dropping much. Seems that apps related to holidays/particular seasons etc can make a good profit.

Since you technically are starting now, I will suggest you create an Excel file with your apps, where you have uploaded them, what version they are and in which Android store etc. Trust me, after a while you will have no control at all over your apps unless you keep your handy excel constantly updated with all changes.

You definitely try Opera, it is worth the few minutes of publishing. It will not be ultra-successful, but on the other hand it doesn't take much of your time anyway. Also, consider trying other stores as well.