making app out of website

Hey I’m new to this and appreciate your help

– is there a
tutorial on best practice of taking a website (text, images, navigation, links)
and making it an app?

Comments

• You can use the "Website Activity" and just point it to your website.
    If the website works offline, .zip it and upload as "HTML Archive".
    These are good options.
  • Wow, this really works - thank you @tamworthheat

I've tested it out with both a wordpress site and a static html site, and andromo grabs the whole thing - really cool

Of course, the original site's navigation is too small, so now I'm wondering how to make that workable
    - can buttons be assigned to correspond to existing navigation pages, or does it have to be broken down page by page somehow?
  • Ideal word create a mobile version of the site - took me a while but finally got it
  • Hey @jmac1963, sounds like that's what I'll have to do - what is your method for doing this?
    jmac1963
    jmac1963
  • If it is your site (that you can edit the HTML, you could try adding the following to the HEAD section:

<meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1, minimum-scale=1, maximum-scale=1, user-scalable=0" />

This should ensure the text is correct size for mobile devices etc
  • Too long to type everything here, but check out Responsive Web Design and the MEDIA tag.  I'm currently working on a block of code to handle the proper scaling of my jQuery Mobile web app and this technique is working very well.

• Or just use free responsive website and adapt it, there are hundreds out there
  • I created my site with Concrete5 and one of their themes - not free but it worked for me. www.mostrim.org
  • edited March 2014
  • For your wordpress sites you can simply use the plugin "WP Touch"
    http://wordpress.org/plugins/wptouch/